I scream, you scream, we all scream for … popsicles?

This summer I have been obsessed with popsicles*, well actually for a number of years now, but this is the first summer that I’ve attempted to make them myself.  Back in Durham, one of my favorite places for a before-dinner treat is Locopops.  It is celebrating its 5-year anniversary – I, and others, had doubts that a store that only sold $1 popsicles was going to turn a profit.  But turn a profit it did. Now with several locations and a few popsicle carts all around the Triangle area, it has become a Durham institution.

Dad and I enjoying a cool treat on a hot Southern day.

Now this is my first summer in a number of years without having Locopops walking distance from my house and I’ve decided to take matters into my own hands, or freezer as the case may be.  So earlier this summer I took a stroll to Kitchen Window and bought myself two sets of popsicle molds and then just over this past weekend, a third (you can also order them from Amazon).  It was amazingly easy.  The first batch consisted of too ripe strawberries, lemon and homemade rhubarb simple syrup (leftover from a crazy cocktail concoction Scott and I were attempting).  A whirl in the blender, into the molds and straight to the freezer.  Three hours later – popsicle success!  I may have eaten two or three in one sitting – I am not ashamed to admit it.  The second batch, blackberries and cream, led to the invest of a second piece of equipment – a kitchen strainer.  I highly recommend a strainer, especially if using any kind of berry, if you don’t want to have teeny tiny seeds stuck in your teeth.

Lemon-Lime

Creamy Coffee

Raspberry-Mint-Lime

Blueberry-Pear-Cinnamon

I’ve gone a little crazy in my popsicle making (and eating).  Creamy coffee, blueberry pear cinnamon, mango pineapple, creamy lemon lime and my hands down all time favorite, raspberry mint lime – which also makes a great base for mojitos.  I admit I have tried to re-create a flavor or two from Locopops.  I don’t have a strict recipe, which is a departure from my usual mode of kitchen creations.  It’s mostly fruit, some simple syrup (so it won’t freeze as hard as an ice cube) and either milk or water.  I don’t think there is a wrong way to do it.  The only problem is that you have to wait a few hours before you can enjoy!  Although, this months Cooking Light issue pointed me in the direction of this neat gadget.

All I can say is: Yum!

*Technically, I am not supposed to call them popsicles because they are trademarked, so please think of them as ice pops instead.  For a little history and some fun facts visit this site.

2 responses to “I scream, you scream, we all scream for … popsicles?

  1. Your blog has just blown me away. You are off to a great start! Between you, Scott and Kristin, I am just how amazed at how entertaining and soulful you all can put your thoughts into words. And the ice pops…you must share your combinations with me. The only ones I enjoy these days after a hard morning’s labor in the yard, is Edy’s strawberry fruit bars. Yours look sooooo much more satisfying!!! Looking forward to more blog entries.

    • Thanks for your kind words – it’s nice to know that people are reading and enjoying. I’ll share my popsicle “recipes” if you share some of your Southern kitchen secrets!

Leave a Reply

