A Spontaneous Adventure

As I am sitting here in the Charlotte airport, digesting my crappy airport Chinese food and taking advantage of the free wi-fi, I thought I would share my weekend adventure.  For most of August I have been sitting in Minneapolis feeling sorry for myself, trying to distract myself with painting projects and starting this blog, missing Scott and my family.  So I decided to do something about it.  I picked up and flew to Florida on Friday.  My brother and his family were spending the week in Orlando, visiting my sister-in-law’s family and I invited myself, and Scott, over to the party.  Luckily, Amber’s aunt and uncle welcomed us with open arms.  Amber’s uncle was able to score us FREE tickets to Universal Studios and so the seven of us made a day of it on Saturday.

I had no idea that having fun was so exhausting.  It was literally one roller coaster ride after another (for the record, my favorite was The Mummy).

Scott spent most of the day sitting out the roller coaster rides, so he got stuck babysitting Kailey.  (Although I should give him credit for going on a couple of the rides).What I was most excited about was the new Wizarding World of Harry Potter.  I mean, I have read all seven of the Harry Potter books more times than I can count.  I absolutely love them, so I was pretty stoked to physically immerse myself into that fantastical world.  And it was pretty cool – just in a theme park sort of way, rather than in an awe-inspiring sort of way.  We explored Hogsmeade.

Honeydukes

We went to Three Broomsticks and drank Butterbeer…though I must say it was way too sweet for my and my blood sugar’s tastes.

Three Broomsticks

Frozen Butterbeer

And we went on The Forbidden Journey.  Actually, this was the first thing that we did when we got the the Wizarding World.  The estimated wait time was only 30 minutes, and compared to the 6-8 hour wait that others had experienced earlier this month, we jumped in line.  Universal clearly spent an enormous amount of time making sure that one’s wait in line for this ride would be as exciting as the ride itself.  Moving portraits, Dumbledore’s office, cabinet’s full of magical instruments, the line wound through one castle room to another.  The only problem was – the line was only 30 minutes long!  We were racing through the castle without even a backwards glance, so I felt a little cheated of the experience.  As for the ride itself … well, it left me, and many others in my party, a little queasy.  Now, as I’ve said, I LOVE roller coasters, but I’m not sure that riding a broomstick is for me.

I think part of the disappointment in the illusion was the hordes of tourists (myself included) wearing their shorts and tank tops trying to beat the scorching heat.  And hot it was.  Much of the afternoon was spent enjoying one frozen drink after another with no regards to calories or high fructose corn syrup consumption.

By the end of the day we were tired, but still had smiles on our faces (well most of us).

All in all a fantastic day and a welcome break from Minneapolis.  Of course the main point of trip was to steal cuddles with Kailey …

One response to “A Spontaneous Adventure

  1. I was soooo glad that your Florida adventure was amazing. Wish I could have been there.

Leave a Reply

