Cookies for all!

My lab decided to celebrate the holidays by having a cookie-decorating party this past weekend.  There were kids, cookies and cocoa.  Three of my favorite things.  We decorated both sugar cookies and gingerbread cookies.  I was responsible for providing the gingerbread cookie dough – a task that I was eager to volunteer for. So I scoured my cookbooks to find the perfect recipe.  Note: the perfect recipe was on that did not require me to go to the grocery store (the limiting factors were 1 1/2 cups butter and 3 eggs, surprisingly, I had molasses in my cupboard).  A recipe from The Bon Appetit Cookbook fit the bill.  I even had enough ingredients for two batches.

Gingerbread Men (or women, Christmas trees, holiday bells etc)

Sift together:

2 1/3 cups flour

2 teaspoons ground ginger

1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

1/4 teaspoon salt.

Beat:

3/4 cup butter, room temperature!

1/2 cup dark brown sugar

1/2 cup light molasses (I used dark, given that was what I had in my cupboard)

Beat in 1 egg.

Add the flour mixture in three parts and stir to combine after each addition.

The dough will be very soft, but not too sticky.  Divide into three parts, wrap in plastic and refrigerate for at least an hour.

Roll dough out on a floured surface and cut out cookies.

Bake at 375 degree for 10 minutes.  Cookies should be firm, but not crunchy; soft, but won’t easily break.  Just about perfect.  We decorated with brightly colored cream cheese frosting, and the results varied from artistic to … enthusiastic, to say the least.

And my personal best (and crowd favorite):

A yummy time was had by all.

One response to “Cookies for all!

  1. Those cookies look soo yummy!!!!!!!!! I love gingerbread!

Leave a Reply

