Cranberries and Pomegranates

So it turns out that my stove has a gas leak.  Bad news.  As I wait for the repairman to come and look at it (and it looks like he won’t make it out until Monday), I have had to find a way to eat without cooking.  It’s been a lot of salad.  Luckily, I’ve been infatuated with this simple and pretty salad.

Salad greens, blue cheese, toasted walnuts and pomegranate arils all dressed with a red wine vinaigrette. That’s all there is to it.  I love the pop of color from the pomegranate and the punch of sweet-tart flavor they provide.  It’s been a lifesaver while my stove has been out of commission.

My second seasonal obsession has been cranberries.  I had bought a bag of fresh cranberries for some apple-cranberry tarts I made for Thanksgiving and have been trying to figure out what to do with the rest of them.  I’ve been working on a cranberry cocktail, one inspired by the mojito and I think it’s pretty damn good.

Muddle some cranberries in the bottom of a glass.  Add some mint simple syrup (equal parts sugar and water, cooked until dissolved) and white rum (my favorite is Appleton).  Top with some lime seltzer water. Enjoy! It’s also certainly helped me deal with my current kitchen disabilities.

Plus, the pomegranates and cranberries have not only been feeding me, but also my color addiction.

One response to “Cranberries and Pomegranates

  1. After we moved here, we got a little Breville convection oven, which I use all the time (handy to have, and an alternative to the gas stove when it leaks–or when you just don’t want to turn on the big oven, or when you have multiple things going). It fits a roast chicken or a 2.5 quart Dutch oven. Just baked a grapefruit in it for breakfast . . . my new winter thing, after remembering it from a B & B we went to last Thanksgiving! Grapefruit, brown sugar, cinnamon, a little bit of butter, at 350 for 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

