Cozy Kiddie Cap

So I’ve been knitting a lot lately.  Partly because I need something to do while it is so cold outside and partly because I am trying to stay economical and heartfelt in my gift giving this holiday season.  I am not going to share everything I am working on at the moment, but I will share this cute little hat that I made one evening last week.  It’s a birthday present for my niece, who is turning 2 on December 19th.

I dug through my storage bins of yarn and finally decided on a pink theme. Some (and you know who you are) may even refer to it as “muppet vomit.”

Puck is always “helping” me with all of my knitting projects.

Ta-da!  Just a couple of hours and some scraps of yarn.  I like the pattern because it is super adaptable to needle size and yarn weight.  I use circular needles to avoid having to sew up a seam.  For this particular hat, I used size 7 needles.

Knit Hat

1. Cast on 41 (51, 61, 71, etc) stitches.

2. Work in garter stitch (K every row for regular needles; K one row, P one row for circular needles) for 4-6 rows, depending on how wide you want the band (this was 6 rows).

3. Continue in stockinette stitch (K one row, P one row for regular needles; K every row for circular needles) until the hat is 4-6 inches long.

4. K1; K2tog, K3 (K4, K5, K6, etc)* repeat to the end of the row.

5. Work next row in stockinette stitch.  When making larger hats work the next three rows after step 4 in stockinette stitch until you get to K2tog, K3 and then continue as described.

6. K1; K2tog, K2 (K3, K4, K5, etc)* repeat to the end of the row.

7. Work next row in stockinette stitch.

8. K1; K2 tog, K1 (K2, K3, K4, etc)* repeat to the end of the row.

9. Work next row in stockinette stitch.

10. K1; K2tog* repeat to the end of the row – there should be 9 stitches remaining.

11.  Work end of yarn through remaining stitches and pull tight to close.

It’s so easy, I may knit one for myself (one can’t have too many hats in Minnesota)…

2 responses to “Cozy Kiddie Cap

  1. LOVE LOVE LOVE the adorable little hat!

  2. Cynthia K-R in Canada

    I absolutely LOVE to knit hats. I got the ‘bug’ about knitting (AGAIN) last fall when I visited my mother in Denver, and I haven’t looked back. It’s so addictive, and I just can’t stop !!!!!!!!!!!!!! SOS

Leave a Reply

