Back in the Kitchen

It hasn’t been a secret that I have been less than thrilled with winter.  To add insult to injury, my stove was shut off for a week due to a gas leak.  While it was out of commission (during a record-breaking snowfall) all I could think about was all of the things that I wanted to cook and bake.  Due to all of the craziness from the last snow storm the public transit system has been crippled and it’s taking me on average about an hour to make a 4.5 mile commute.  Needless to say, when I finally get home, I am not in the mood to cook.  Until last night.  All day I had been craving some super-duper comfort food and decided that I would whip up one of my all time favorite (and easy) dinners.  Pasta with bacon and asparagus.

Now that a happy kitchen ...

Pasta with Bacon and Asparagus

It starts with bacon, as all amazing things do.  I went ahead and chopped up and fried an entire package, although you probably only need about half a package (as for the other half, I have plans for a baked potato soup).

While the bacon is cooking, bring a pot of water to a boil and cook pasta (I prefer penne).

Chop a onion and cut asparagus in 1 to 1 1/2 inch pieces.

Once cooked, remove bacon and drain off some (but not all) of the fat.  Add the chopped onions to the remaining bacon fat and cook until soft.

Add asparagus to the pasta pot after the pasta is cooked halfway through and cook until asparagus is tender, about 5 minutes.

Drain noodles and asparagus and add to the onions.  Add about 3/4 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese and cook until cheese melts.

Top with bacon crumbles.

I enjoyed mine with a cranberry martini.  Add that to a Skype date with my beloved and it was a pretty fantastic end of the work week.

One response to “Back in the Kitchen

  1. I saw bacon and I was hooked on to this post lol. Very nice

Leave a Reply

