Weekend French Toast

I am continuing to reunite with my kitchen.  This morning was one of my go-to weekend breakfasts.  French toast.  I think I’ve perfected my recipe.  I am big fan of using day-old baguette bread, cut thick.  The ratio of crispy crust to the light and fluffy interior is amazing and using slightly stale bread soaks up the milk and egg mixture nicely. I add a pinch of ground cardamom and I think it adds lovely flavor.

Weekend French Toast

In a shallow baking dish whisk together:

~1/2 cup milk

1 egg

1/2 teaspoon vanilla (I also like to use vanilla bean)

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon ground cardamom

Add:  1 to 1 1/2 inch thick slices of baguette bread.  Let soak for 5-10 minutes.

Heat a pat of butter in a frying pan over medium heat.

Transfer soaked bread to the hot pan.  I love the sizzling sound it makes.

Cook one side 5-6 minutes, until browned.  Flip pieces over and continue to cook another 1-2 minutes.

Enjoy!  I topped mine with spiced blueberry preserves.  Delicious.

Now that I am well-fed, it’s time to finish (I mean start) some Christmas gift projects…

Leave a Reply

