Back to reality? (Holiday Travels Part II)

The holidays have past.

The vacation is over.

*Sigh*

Back to reality.

But before 2011 is in full swing, I want to remember the wonderful times that I had over the past two weeks.

It can be summarized succinctly: Family, Food and Fun.

Cocoa with Kailey.

Game night(s).

Some simple (Sh*t on your neighbor – a family favorite).

And some more complicated (Agricola).

Scott arrived on Christmas day and apart from a quick trip to the grocery store (in order to make grilled turkey with cranberry and goat cheese sandwiches) I don’t think anybody left the house until we had to go back to the airport on December 28.  It was wonderful.

After a quick stop in Minneapolis (to check in on Puck and Kudzu and to discover my car had been towed during a snow emergency) I headed south to Louisiana.

Scott and I spent the day in New Orleans before heading into another family-filled week.

We stayed in a fancy hotel in the French Quarter.

We had dinner at Cochon.  If given the opportunity – go there.  The food was fantastic.

We ventured over to Frenchman Street and saw Walter Wolfman Washington and the Roadmasters at d.b.a. A great show and packed  to boot (I was told it was a special day in New Orleans – a Wednesday).

We ended the evening in the Roosevelt Hotel at the Sazerac Bar – home to the Sazerac cocktail.  (We may have had a drink or two).

Before heading to Baton Rouge the next day we nursed our hangovers with breakfast (lunch) at Slim Goodies and a stroll down Magazine Street.

There was non-stop eating in Baton Rouge.  I don’t think I will need to eat for the entire month of January.

And I got to spend significant time with Scott’s fabulous family.  They welcomed me with open arms and I thoroughly enjoyed myself – I only hope that I represented myself well.

There was cooking.

And eating (did I mention that already?).

And a really, really big bonfire to ring in the New Year.

Another day in New Orleans resulted in …

Eating (beignets at Cafe Du Monde).

And drinking (hurricanes at Pat O’Briens).

Whew.

I need a vacation from my vacation.

Leave a Reply

