Oatmeal Carmelitas

Last night I made some treats.  Delicious treats. From my grandmother’s painstakingly perfect handwritten recipe.  As she died 15 years ago, when I was a young teenager, it is one of my most precious items.

As you can see, it’s seen some wear and tear – but they are always made with love.  Officially they are called Oatmeal Carmelitas.  Yet early on in my grad school career I made these and a friend of mine decided to rename them “Sexual Chocolate.”  I think my grandmother would have found that hilarious.  Needless to say, they gave me the reputation among my fellow biograds as a fantastic baker.  But how can you go wrong with chocolate, caramel, pecans?

Oatmeal Carmelitas (aka Sexual Chocolate)

*********
1 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 cups oatmeal
1 1/8 cups brown sugar
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/8 cups melted butter
1 1/2 cups chocolate chips
3/4 cups chopped pecans
1 1/2 jars caramel sauce + 4 1/2 T flour
**********

Start with some flour.

Add some oatmeal.

And some brown sugar.

And some baking soda and salt.

Melt some butter and mix everything together.

Take about half (maybe two-thirds) of the crumb mixture and press in the bottom of a 9 x 13 pan.

Bake in a 350 degree oven for 10 minutes.

Then sprinkle some chocolate chips.

And chopped pecans.

Now add some flour to caramel sauce.

And pour over the chocolate and pecans.

And top with remaining crumb mixtures.

Bake for an additional 20-25 minutes.

Let cool completely before attempting to cut.

 Be prepared.  You might have to eat more than one.  I had to bring them to a lab party celebrating a dissertation defense of a grad student in the lab, but I managed to resist the temptation to eat the entire pan.  If you refuse to share them – they freeze amazingly well and are equally delicious.

2 responses to “Oatmeal Carmelitas

  1. Oh goodness that looks so delicious!

Leave a Reply

