Lemon Meringue Pie

I’m in love.

Sorry Scott, that you had to find out this way (although you had to know this was coming).

Did I mention that my new-found love is a small kitchen appliance?

My mother sent this to me for my upcoming birthday.  Now my birthday isn’t for another six weeks or so (and it’s the dreadful 3-0) but apparently she couldn’t wait.

I am so glad that she didn’t.

I think I wept for joy.  I have been coveting a KitchenAid stand mixer for several years now. Several! But I am picky, and addicted to color so it had to be just right.

I love the green.

I love it.

I love my mother.

I may even love my upcoming birthday.

 

I couldn’t wait to test it out … but struggled to find the perfect first thing to make.

I consulted the food gods.

I played “What-do-I currently-have-in-my-cupboards-and-don’t-need-to-go-out-in-the-snow-to-the-grocery-store-that-I-could-make?” game.

And decided on Lemon (kind of) Meringue Pie from The Joy of Cooking.

I like this choice.  It serves several purposes.  1) I have all of the necessary ingredients (with a some substitutions). 2) I have to seriously beat some egg whites for the meringue and my new toy is perfect for that. 3) This pie reminds me of my great-grandfather Pete.  Now I am not sure if this was his favorite pie or not, but in my memory it definitely is.  4) This pie also reminds me of summertime with its light and citrus-y flavor, which is perfect as it is about 7 degrees and snowing here in Minneapolis and I could use the escape.

Lemon Meringue Pie (in three parts)

Part I: The crust

So I cheated here and used a store-bought crust that was hanging out in my fridge.  I am not sure why I had this, but I did and because I didn’t want to make a huge mess on my counters by rolling out my own,  I went ahead and used it.

I have to admit – it was pretty damn convenient.

Though I did try and make it pretty by pinching the edges just the way my mother taught me.

Cover with foil and fill with pie weights (or rice in this case) and bake at 450 degrees for about 10 minutes.

Once out of the oven, remove the foil (returning the rice back to its canister) and let cool.

Part II: Lemon Custard

Sift into a pot:

1 1/2 cups sugar

6 T cornstarch

1/4 tsp salt

Add:

1/2 cup lemon juice*

1/2 cup cold water

Whisk until smooth.

*Technically, I should call this citrus juice as its part lemon juice and part fresh grapefruit juice (which explains the pink color).

Whisk in:

3 egg yolks, beaten well (keep whites from 2 eggs for meringue)

2 T butter

Add:

1 1/2 cups boiling water

Bring to a boil.

Once thick, reduce to a simmer and cook for an additional minute.

Add:

1 tsp citrus zest (I used grapefruit)

Pour into cooled pie shell.

Part III: The Meringue, featuring the stand mixer

Whip together:

2 egg whites

1/4 tsp cream of tartar

Once stiff, add:

4 T powdered sugar, 1 T at a time

1 tsp vanilla

Top pie with meringue.

Bake at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes or until peaks start to brown.

Let cool before cutting into or else you will get lemon soup.

I think I am going to be spending the rest of my Sunday dreaming up what to make next.

It really is love, and unlike Scott (who is in Florida), the KitchenAid will be in my kitchen and by my side while I deal with the Midwestern winter.

Although, hopefully, both Scott and the KitchenAid will be by my side for many years to come.

2 responses to “Lemon Meringue Pie

  1. That is an exceptionally cute way to end your post. Congrats on your stand mixer! I agree, perfect color for you.

  2. I am in love with your Green Mixer and want one of my own!!! My white one just does not compare. I am happy I discovered your blog while procrastinating writing my dissertation. Thanks for giving me a break from the writing to be reminded of what joys are to come in life after graduate school 🙂

Leave a Reply

