Creamy chocolate-covered mints

I really had no reason to make these cute little creamy chocolate-covered mints.  But, I am still in the honeymoon period with my beautiful green KitchenAid stand mixer.  And it was Sunday.  And I had all of the ingredients in my cupboards.  And they were ridiculously easy to make.  And fun to photograph.

I got the recipe from the little instruction and recipe book that came with my mixer.  And then decided to punch them up with the chocolate.  Oh, and some vanilla.  And I used creme de menthe syrup instead of mint extract.  So I guess you could say I was inspired by the recipe in the KitchenAid book.

Creamy chocolate-covered mints

Start with ~4 oz of cream cheese (1/2 a package) in a mixing bowl.

Add some creme de menthe syrup (I am not exactly sure how much I added – I did it mostly to taste.  The recipe calls for a 1/4 tsp of mint extract)  The recipe also calls for some green food coloring, but as the syrup was already green, I didn’t want to over-do it.

Add some vanilla.  Maybe 1/2 tsp?  As you can see I wasn’t using a measuring spoon…

Now beat on low until smooth.

Beat in a total of 4 to 4 1/2 cups powdered sugar a little at a time.

Now form little balls, maybe 3/4 to an inch big and cover in superfine sugar.

Now I didn’t have superfine sugar.  But I did have regular old granulated sugar and a little food processor.

Just a few pulses and I had my superfine sugar.

Continue rolling out the mints. I love how they look like marshmallow here!

And then squash them down with the back of a spoon.

Now for the chocolate.

Melt some chocolate chips, a pinch of salt and a pat of butter in a double broiler. I’ve just realized you can spy me photographing in the reflection of the double broiler – totally unintentional, but I kind of like it.

Whisk until completely melted and smooth. I had to add a touch of cream to get it to the desired consistancy.

Now, in a more well-equipped kitchen, I would put this in a piping bag.  But this isn’t really a well-equipped kitchen.  So I used an all-purpose ziploc bag instead and cut a tiny hole in the corner to pipe my chocolate across my mints.

I am rather pleased with how pretty they have turned out.

I am not quite sure what to do with all of these goodies I’ve been obsessed with making.  My very small freezer is quickly becoming jam-packed.  Perhaps I should find some friends in this town to unload them on.

One response to “Creamy chocolate-covered mints

  1. Um, I live here. And I love mints.

    Just sayin’…

Leave a Reply

