Hello Florida!

At this moment, I am sitting outside at my computer, drinking my coffee.

It’s 10:30 in the morning.

On the 29th of January.

Did I mention I was wearing a bathrobe?

Clearly, I am not in Minneapolis.

Hello Florida!

It’s lovely here.

Wednesday night, instead of packing, I got a bee in my bonnet and decided to make a skirt.

I dug out my mother’s old sewing machine. (I think it might be older than I am)

 

I then searched through my pattern and notion archives.

 

And assessed my stock of fabric.

I couldn’t find a pattern that I liked and/or had enough fabric for.

So I improvised, Project Runway-style.

Now, this is something that I am not confident doing.  When I sew (and it has been several months since I dusted off my sewing machine) I need a pattern to get through the project.  My mother, on the other hand, can totally make something up on the fly.  I admire that and decided it was time to take the training wheels off (after 15 years or so of sewing projects).

I went to my closet for inspiration.

 

I chose my favorite, purple, A-line skirt to help guide me in making a new, purple, A-line skirt.

You can see I had some help from Puck.

And then Kudzu decided he needed to get in on the action.

(and while this was annoying to work around, I find the cats to be extremely cute)

I mean, come on, this is way cute…

 

I had a slight mis-step in cutting my fabric, so I decided to incorporate blue side panels into the skirt.  I actually think it improved the overall design.  However, I am still far from being ready to go on Project Runway.

I got to work.

I love making skirts because you mostly are just sewing straight lines.  No complicated armholes or necklines.  I even managed to line it and add the zipper without too much hassle.

I think it turned out pretty well, given I wasn’t sure of what I was doing.

And the best part is …

I get to show off my whiter-than-white legs.

Since such things are possible in January, when in Florida.

And I get to work outside on the coffeeshop patio.

With Scott.

In the sun.

Not in snowy, cold Minneapolis.

Which makes me more than happy.

 

2 responses to “Hello Florida!

  1. Nicely done with the skirt! I especially like the border. Hope you enjoy your time in Florida – although being a midwestern transplant from the PNW currently living in the south, I kind of envy people who have snow. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Raspberry Rhubarb Crisp | Puck and Kudzu

Leave a Reply

