Mac and Cheese

Arg.

Winter is not over. I thought it might be but I was mislead.

It looks like we’ve already had about 7 inches of snow fall today … and it shows no signs of stopping.  Some reports are predicting up to 15 inches. It will likely be the snowiest winter since 1891. Whoa. And I decided to live here for it. What was I thinking?

(Good thing I have another trip to Florida next weekend)

So it’s back to my comfort food.

Ultra-cheesy carbohydrates aka Mac and Cheese. Perhaps my favorite dish ever (this time I mean it).

This time I made it with three cheeses: Cheddar, Gruyere and Asiago.

I mean how could this not make you feel better?

This recipe is almost exactly how I learned it from my mother when I was young. I’ve modified it slightly with the addition of garlic salt and cayenne pepper and sometimes different combinations of cheese.

Best Mac and Cheese Ever

Start by melting 3 tablespoons butter in a pot over medium-low heat. (What I love about this recipe is that the sauce is super easy to scale: equal parts butter and flour (in tablespoons) and the equivalent number of cups of milk).

Whisk in 3 tablespoons of flour.

Now season with some garlic salt.

And a dash of cayenne pepper.

Whisk in 3 cups milk.

And cook until sauce thickens.

Add about 3/4 of ALL the shredded cheese. (I really have no idea how much cheese this is in total – see photo above.)

The cheddar.

The gruyere.

And the asiago.

Make sure you leave a little so you can top off you dish.

Take off the heat and stir to melt the cheese.

Now, drain your cooked elbow macaroni noodles (about 1/2 a pound).

And put in an oven-proof casserole dish.  Add the cheese sauce.

And top with remaining cheese.

Bake in a 350 degree oven for about 30 minutes.

I think I make this at least 2 or 3 times a month …

One response to “Mac and Cheese

  1. Pingback: Raspberry Rhubarb Crisp | Puck and Kudzu

Leave a Reply

