Spring Fever

We are halfway through February.  At any other point in my life (except for my freshman year of college when I was in eastern Washington at Washington State University) it would already start to feel like the beginning of spring.  Now I know that officially spring doesn’t start until March 21, but you would start to see hints of spring emerging.

And I was pleasantly surprised with Minneapolis this week.  Temps in the 4o’s and even a day in the 50’s.  That’s what I’ve been waiting for since October. Out came my skirts and shoes that weren’t boots. It was fantastic. It felt amazing.  The snow began to melt and everybody was talking about “The Thaw.”

It put me is a springtime state of mind.

I scrubbed down my apartment.

And I decided to pull out this cute little gadget I got for Christmas from Scott’s family.

What a fantastic gift! I had mentioned it earlier this summer when I was making popsicles the old-fashioned way but in no way was expecting to ever receive it. It basically makes popsicles in less than 10 minutes. And is pretty damn cool (pardon my pun). I felt like a kid again as I was completely awed by how it works.

So excited in fact, that I was negligent in taking photos of the entire process.

But here is what I have.

Creamy Strawberry Lime Popsicles

4 or 5 strawberries

Juice of one lime

Lime zest

2-3 Tablespoons lemon juice

1/3 cup sugar

3/4 cup milk

Blend together until smooth.

And pour into your popsicle maker.

And wait. For 10 minutes. As it says on the box – watch them freeze. It is just about the coolest thing ever.

There is even this super-cool tool that helps extract the popsicles from the machine.  It basically screws into the popsicle sticks and you twist it. It will eventually be hard to turn and then magically it will be loose again (the first time I thought I had stripped it out) and your popsicle will just slide out!

Delicious!

You can make up to three batches (9 popsicles) at a time. I had enough ingredients to make six. I may have eaten ALL of them. But hey, they are only two ounces each … so it was kind of like eating a frozen smoothie. Perfectly acceptable.

Stay tuned for the next batch. I have plans for some fancy popsicles, using my cute little tool set that will put in diagonal sections.  It involve chai tea and white chocolate cream.

Which is a perfect type of popsicle for a cold, snowy winter day.

Because the Minneapolis winter isn’t quite ready to surrender to springtime.

I woke up to snow falling this morning (again).

Good thing I have popsicles to entertain me!

Or maybe I’ll knit myself a new hat…

2 responses to “Spring Fever

  1. Oh my gosh – I need a Zoku! That is possible the most awesome kitchen gadget ever… (and your ice pops looked yum!) All I can think of now is the potential for frozen cocktails in ice pop form.

  2. Pingback: Carrot Cake Cupcakes | Puck and Kudzu

Leave a Reply

