Waiting for Spring

It snowed again last night.

Have I mentioned how tired I am of all the snow? It is especially gross now because there are some days that are actually above freezing so some of the snow will melt creating massive pond-sized puddles in the sidewalks and intersections. Then it will dip below freezing overnight and all that water turns to ice.

Yuck.

Even the natives are getting restless.

*****

So I am trying to embrace the little things that distract me from the weather outside.

Like cream biscuits with lemon curd.

I was inspired to make lemon curd because I had these sitting in my fridge, leftover from my birthday cake.

9 egg yolks. Apparently, according to Google, you can freeze egg yolks by putting them in ice cube trays and sprinkling them with either salt (for savory use) or sugar (for sweet use). I decided against that, mostly because the idea of an ice-cube shaped egg yolk kind of freaked me out. Google also suggested that I make Zabaglione, which sounded too fancy for me, besides I didn’t have any wine. But I did have some sugar, lemon juice and butter in addition to my egg yolks.

Lemon Curd

adapted from Alton Brown

In a double boiler (but not over heat yet), start with 1 cup of sugar.

Add 5 egg yolks.

Whisk together.

Add 1/3 cup lemon juice and move double boiler to a pot with simmering water.

Whisk away until the mixture becomes thick and pale yellow. It should take about 10 minutes or so.

Take off the heat and add 4-5 tablespoons of butter, 1 tablespoon at a time.

And because I wasn’t sure when I was actually going to use the lemon curd, I decided to can it.

But not before I tried some of it and had my mind blown. I mean, absolutely amazing with its silky texture and lemony zing. So I immediately made another batch with my remaining egg yolks. The whole process, two batches and all, took me about 30 minutes.

I did this last week (the day after making birthday cake) as I didn’t want my egg yolks to spoil. And I spent some time trying to figure out what to eat it with. Then I read this fabulous post by Molly Wizenberg and knew that I had to make cream biscuits. Here’s my pictorial version.

Cream biscuits

From Molly Wizenberg

Start with 2 cups flour

Add 1 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon baking powder

and 2 teaspoons sugar.

Add 1 cup cream, mixing until the dough forms.

Knead for about a minute.

Roll out and cut into biscuits.

At this point you can either freeze the biscuits (which is what I did with 2/3 of them) or continue on to bake them. First, brush the entire biscuit, top, bottom and sides liberally with melted butter and bake at 425 degrees for about 15 minutes, or until golden brown.

Eat them while they are hot – they almost have a shortbread quality to them that is delicious.

Bright and sunny. Perfect for a dreary, almost Spring day.

3 responses to “Waiting for Spring

  1. This sounds great. We always have leftover yolks. We’re actually making zabaglione tomorrow. (It’s less involved than this, stock some marsala and give it a try sometime.) We also have tons of lemon juice leftover so will be trying this.

  2. Pingback: Lemon Curd Blueberry Tartlette | Puck and Kudzu

  3. Pingback: More Baking Therapy | Puck and Kudzu

Leave a Reply

