Winters last(?) laugh

I thought we were in the clear. I got back from California Sunday evening and was pleasantly surprised by the near lack of snow in the city. By Monday afternoon they had even called off the “Winter Parking Restrictions” (which basically meant that I could only park on one side of the street because the snow pretty much takes up the width of an entire lane). I was looking forward to taking my bike out around the lakes over the weekend and just being able to walk down the sidewalk without having my eyes permanently downward, looking out for ice or puddles. I was dreaming of flower gardens and finding a CSA (community supported agriculture).

But then I woke up to this.

Snow. Again. Multiple inches of it. In fact it snowed for most of the day.

WTF?

I ask myself (once again) “Why does anybody, and more importantly, why do I live here?”

In order to deal with this completely unwelcome development I made a giant pot of soup.

Roasted butternut squash soup topped with croutons and apple cider cream.

I love this soup. And, like most soups, it is pretty easy to assemble with relatively few ingredients.

Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

Start by rough chopping:

1 small butternut squash

2 small apples

4-5 small carrots

1 large onion

Season with salt and pepper. Roast in a 450 degree oven for 45 minutes or so.

Meanwhile, heat some butter in your soup pot and add some chopped celery. Cook until soft, about 15 minutes.

Add a few pinches of dried thyme.

And a dash of cayenne pepper.

Take the vegetables out of the oven.

And transfer them to the soup pot.

Add 4 cups of stock (vegetable or chicken).

And 1 cup of apple cider.

Bring to a boil and cook for about 15 minutes.

Working in batches, transfer to a blender and puree until smooth.

Return to the soup pot, bring to a simmer and add 1/2 cup of cream.

Now for the apple cider cream.

Cook 1/2 cup of apple cider until reduced by half.

Mix into 2/3 cup of sour cream.

That’s it.

Now that my belly is full, I am going to go back to dreaming about California and ignore all the snow that is currently outside.

3 responses to “Winters last(?) laugh

  1. Butternut squash soup is my favorite! I once had the most wonderful bowl made for me by my friend’s mother. She told me that her secret was roasting the butternut in some truffle oil. This really adds a distinct flavor. She also garnished it with food grade lavender buds. Heavenly. Your cider cream looks pretty tasty too! Hope the snow stays away.

  2. Pingback: A taste of what’s to come | Puck and Kudzu

  3. Pingback: Roasted Corn and Potato Chowder | Puck and Kudzu

Leave a Reply

