Lemon Broccoli Pasta

Everybody has a go-to recipe. There are some nights that you just don’t want to have to think about what to cook for dinner. And so you need a meal that, without fail, is quick, simple and delicious. One of mine is lemon broccoli pasta. I like it because it bright and fresh and I usually have the ingredients for it in my cupboards and refrigerator. You can add chicken to it, if you’d like – but I prefer the vegetarian form.

Lemon Broccoli Pasta

Bring a pot of water to a boil and add about 1/2 pound of linguine.

 

Chop a few cloves of garlic. I am a garlic fiend, so I use 3 or 4.

 

And I use a vegetable chopper. It may be one of my favorite kitchen tools – especially for chopping garlic.

 

Heat a couple of tablespoons of olive oil in a deep-sided frying pan. Add the chopped garlic and cook for a couple of minutes.

 

Add ~1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes and cook for about a minute.

 

Now take some broccoli …

 

… chop it up and add it to the frying pan.

 

Cover with a lid and let the broccoli cook for a few minutes. I prefer my broccoli slightly crunchy, so I tend to undercook mine.

 

Add the cooked linguine to the garlic-red pepper flake-broccoli mix.

 

Meanwhile, juice and zest a lemon.

 

Add lemon juice and zest to pasta.

 

Oh yeah, and toss in a good portion of freshly grated parmesan cheese (because it’s not a pasta dish without it). Heat until the cheese melts.

 

Plate and top with some toasted walnuts (pine nuts are also a great choice).

 

It really is a no-brainer. Part of the reason I have this blog is to have an online archive of my most favorite dishes so that when I am old and have lost my memory (you know, probably sometime next year) I can go back and see what I did, whether it be simple or complex. This just happens to fall in the “stupidly easy and delicious” category.

 

Leave a Reply

