What do I say?

I made fried rice over the weekend. I don’t have a story for it. I didn’t even have a recipe for it. As with most of my dishes, I made it primarily because I had all of the ingredients in my kitchen and there was no need to go to the grocery store. (It should be noted that the grocery store is approximately 2 blocks away from my apartment, so it is pure laziness that keeps me from going to pick up missing ingredients). It seemed so exotic at first, a departure from what I usually cook, then I realized it was just rice and vegetables, like this and this.

Fried Rice

I went ahead and cooked some rice (4 cups water and 2 cups rice).

And then proceeded to chop some onion and carrots.

 

Heat a couple of tablespoons of oil in a skillet and cook the onions.

Now add the carrots and some frozen peas.

And some garlic.

Cook vegetables for a few minutes and then move to a bowl.

Go back to the now empty skillet and heat 4 tablespoons of oil over medium-high heat.

Add the cooked rice. And you know, fry it.

Take some eggs.

 

Beat them, add them to the rice and cook until scrambled.

Return the vegetables to the rice.

 

Add 2 tablespoons of soy sauce. Cook until everything is heated through.

That’s all. I don’t know what else to say. A great meatless dish (although chicken or pork could easily be added).

Leave a Reply

