Cocoa Beach

Scott and I went to Cocoa Beach this weekend.

Like a real beach.

We might have been the whitest people there.

Clearly we are academics holed up in our ivory towers and never see the light of day.

Well, I have a good excuse. I live in Minnesota where Spring is finally starting to emerge. Scott, however lives in Florida full time now…

There were a surprisingly lot of people there for a random weekend in April.

I am pretty sure a good number of them didn’t see or obey this sign…

I spent a lot of time doing this.

What can I say? I am a Pisces. I LOVE the water. Especially the warm south Atlantic Ocean.

Then I amused myself by taking photos (while Scott read math papers) of:

Sand,

shadows,

and surf.

And then Scott and I did something completely beach tourist-y.

We are not going to discuss the score. (it was after all my first time playing mini-golf…)

We are also not going to discuss the “Cuban” restaurant, Roberto’s, with the truly terrible food and snotty French waitress.

Nor will we discuss the only bar that was open at 11:00 pm on a Friday night. I’ll just mention that there was a mullet sighting and the fanciest beer on tap was Yuengling …

Luckily we found an Irish pub on Saturday night, complete with a hard-to-find Irish cream ale. We had to be the youngest patrons there, by a good 30 years …

(I think that might be a good representation of Florida: townies with mullets and old people.)

And we had a fantastic brunch at Simply Delicious.

There was homemade jam. I am a sucker for good homemade jam.

So begins our search for the perfect Florida beach. I would rate Cocoa Beach a 6 (on a scale of 10). The beach/water was fantastic. The mini-golf was fun. The “downtown” area has potential (but may need further review).

And luckily, the SPF 55 suncreen did a good job of maintaining my pearly white glow… although I cannot say the same for my purple locks.

Leave a Reply

