A girl can dream, can’t she?

I am not going to lie. I spent most of my weekend in Florida dreaming of leaving science and opening a restaurant. I think it is my backup plan if the next couple of years don’t go so well on the academic front. There are a number of reasons for this.

1) I spend a lot of time thinking about food (as you probably can tell)

2) The food in Gainesville (and I would wager most of Northern Florida) pretty much sucks.

This is what I am thinking. A small little place that serves mostly breakfast-brunch-lunch type foods (because those are my favorite things to make). Three soups daily, a variety of salads, the odd pasta dish and all things breakfast (served all day). And let’s through in some fantastic coffee and baked goods. Just because. It would be small, bright and fresh. I think I have a decent eye for design and want create a space that is warm, inviting and cozy. There would be a backyard patio and garden with flowers everywhere. Something that screams springtime all year round.

Oh yeah, and I would put this quiche on the menu.

Asparagus Parmesan Quiche. It also screams springtime.

 

Asparagus Parmesan Quiche

The crust: makes one 9-inch crust

Note – this was my first time making pie crust in my mini-food processor and I am a convert. So freaking easy!

Measure 1 1/2 cups flour into the food processor.

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 tablespoon of sugar

Now for the beauty of the food processor –

cut in 8 tablespoons of cold butter

 

Add 4-5 tablespoons of cold water and pulse until dough comes together

 

Roll it out into a roughly circular shape – I totally eyeballed this.

 

and transfer it to a pie pan, beautifying the edges and poking holes on the bottom.

 

Bake in a 400 degree oven for about 15 minutes.

 

The filling

Take some good stuff, in this case, baby asparagus, shallots and pancetta

 

Boil the asparagus for about 5 minutes.

Saute the shallots and pancetta until cooked through.

 

While the good stuff is cooking, whisk together:

3/4 cup half and half

 

3 eggs

 

1 1/2 teaspoons tarragon

 

3/4 cup parmesan cheese

 

To the baked pie crust, add:

pancetta-onion mixture

 

Pour the egg-cream-cheese mixture over the top.

 

Arrange the asparagus nicely (or not so nicely..)

 

And bake at 375 degrees for about 25 minutes.

 

Completely restaurant-worthy.

 

Although, I do have a few holes in my back-up plan. Like no actual restaurant experience – not even as a teenager working in the fast food industry. Or money to invest. Or any business experience. And perhaps most importantly, no name for said dream restaurant.

Guess there are still a few things to work out beyond just the menu…

One response to “A girl can dream, can’t she?

  1. Restauranteuring looks like very hard but potentially very rewarding work. Keep dreaming! I’d certainly eat at your restaurant if I were anywhere near it. All these blog posts about yummy stuff you’ve made are great advertisements!

Leave a Reply

