Lonely Girl Cheesecake

Scott mentioned that he had a slice of lemon raspberry cheesecake for his birthday and I haven’t been able to get the idea out of my mind. It seems like the perfect combination of decadence and freshness. (Note: I am trying very hard not to mention the snow I woke up to yesterday morning.)

I had to make something along the same lines.

There are usually two things that prevent me from making cheesecake.

1) It takes forever – the baking and the cooling. You really do need to make it a day before you want to eat it. And I am just not that patient.

2) A single 9-inch cake is a LOT of cheesecake. It really is intended to feed a party – not a single person (or even a couple for that matter).

Hence, the Lonely Girl Cheesecake. I baked these mini-cheesecakes in a muffin tin marbled with lemon curd and raspberry jam. Mini-cheesecakes accomplish several things. Like allow me to make a fraction of a normal recipe. They both cook and cool faster. And they are the perfect size – three wonderfully awesome bites. Not to mention the ratio of graham cracker crust to cool creamy filling is just about perfect for my tastes.

Lemon Curd and Raspberry Mini-Cheesecakes

Makes 8.

**********

The Crust 
2/3 cup crushed graham crackers (~6 whole crackers)
2 teaspoons brown sugar
3 tablespoons butter, melted
 
The Filling
1 – 8 ounce package cream cheese
1/3 cup sugar
1 large egg
1/4 cup sour cream
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon lemon juice

 

Lemon Curd
Raspberry-Rhubarb Jam
**********

Mix together:

Crushed graham crackers

Brown sugar

Melted butter

Press down in lined muffin tins.

Refrigerate while making the cheesecake filling.

Beat together:

Cream cheese

Sugar

An egg.

Sour cream.

Vanilla extract.

And just a little bit of lemon juice.

Beat until smooth.

Fill muffin cups 3/4 full with filling.

Now top with some swirls of lemon curd and raspberry-rhubarb jam.

Bake at 300º for 20 minutes.

Cool completely and then transfer to the refrigerator to chill through.

I ate one for breakfast.

And then I at another.

I must admit, I am glad that I am not under any obligation to share these treats.

They are all for my lonesome.

6 responses to “Lonely Girl Cheesecake

  1. This is awesome. My wife and I don’t like making desserts for the same reason, way too many leftovers. She’s popular with her coworkers the day after.

  2. HELLO! That looks incredible. Jeez… i may have to make these this weekend. Thanks for sharing! (And hi rufus.)

  3. Thanks for the enthusiastic comments – I might have to make another batch soon. They are that good.

  4. Hi, I made your cheesecake desserts a couple weeks ago, and then, lost the recipe. It took me most of the day to find the recipe on the Pioneer Woman’s Tasty Kitchen blog. ( was spelling “cheesecake” wrong, it turns out.) In any event, I made these with my granddaughters, and my family loved them. After I found the recipe at Tasty Kitchen, I thought I would check out your blog, but it seems I must be doing something wrong because I am not able to print out a recipe without all the pictures. I am not able to find a “print” button. It takes like 14 pages to print out? You have some great recipes but I need help in printing them out. BTW, I live in the Pacific Northwest, Seattle (or Shoreline, Wa.) to be specific. I enjoyed your blog and recipes. Please advise how I can print out one of your reicpes without it being so many pages. Thanks for your help!

    • Thanks for the kind and useful comments. There are a couple of reasons that I don’t have print links to my recipes. The first (and foremost) is simply that I don’t know how to do it (I am still a beginner blogger). The second is that I want my posts to reflect the cooking process and not just a boring old recipe and the third is that I am immersed in the technological generation and so my computer or iPad comes with me into the kitchen rather than a stack of printed recipes and it never occurred to me that others may not operate the same way. I’ll work on getting print links to my recipes!

  5. Pingback: Pumpkin Cheesecake Bites | Puck and Kudzu

Leave a Reply

