Thank-you-for-looking-for-my-lost-cat-brownies

How do you say thank you to somebody who was critical in reuniting me with Puck? My downstairs neighbor went above and beyond her neighborly duty to help me out when the Puckster went missing. She was the one to suggest posting an ad on Craigslist and checked in on me throughout the day to see how things were going. I cannot thank her enough for all of her help.

It probably comes as no surprise that I decided to express my gratitude through food. For this occasion I made a batch of brownies. Mexican chocolate brownies topped with a brown sugar glaze and sliced almonds. I am pretty sure that nothing says Thank You like something featuring chocolate.

Mexican Chocolate Brownies with Brown Sugar Glaze

From Bon Appetit

**********
Mexican Brownies
4 ounces unsweetened chocolate, chopped
1/2 cup butter
1 1/4 cups packed brown sugar
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cup flour
1 cup milk chocolate chips
 
Brown Sugar Glaze
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup whipping cream
1 tablespoon butter
3/4 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup sliced almonds
**********

Melt butter in a pan over low heat.

Chop the unsweetened chocolate.

And melt it with the butter.

Whisk until smooth.

Take off heat, cool for 5 minutes. Continue to whisk in:

Brown sugar

Cinnamon

Salt

Eggs, one at a time

Followed by the vanilla. Whisk until batter is smooth, about 2 minutes.

Stir in flour, mixing until just blended.

Fold in milk chocolate chips.

Pour into a aluminum foil lined 8 x 8 square baking dish.

Bake at 325º for 35 minutes.

For the brown sugar glaze, bring the whipping cream, brown sugar and butter to a boil over low heat.

Once boiling, take off heat and stir in vanilla extract.

Spread over cooled brownies and top with sliced almonds.

Let sit for at least an hour.

Note: I love the aluminum foil trick. I was able to life the brownies right out of the pan. Not only did it save me one more dish to wash, it made cutting apart the brownies about a hundred times easier.

So thank you, dear neighbor for your help in finding Puck.

One good turn deserves another.

One response to “Thank-you-for-looking-for-my-lost-cat-brownies

  1. Oh, yum! I love brownies, and these sound like a nice twist on the plain…

Leave a Reply

