Raspberry Rhubarb Crisp

I am my mother’s daughter. And unlike so many other women in the world, that thought doesn’t send chills down my spine. After all, she’s the one who taught me how to make real Mac n’ Cheese and Apple Brown Betty as well as countless other dishes. She taught me how to sew and tackle any home decor project (like this) and to be completely self sufficient. We have exactly the same temperament and similar sense of style. She is my favorite person to shop with. We managed to work in the same dental office and live in the same house for seven years while I was in high school and college without killing each other. She doesn’t give me (too) much grief about my purple hair and nose ring.

And things haven’t really changed since I moved away from the Pacific Northwest, almost seven years ago. But it does make Mother’s Day hard to celebrate. Thank goodness for the telephone and email. But I think “Happy Mother’s Day – I baked you Raspberry Rhubarb Crisp” isn’t quite the same in an email as it would be in real life. Granted, I did make her Carrot Cake Cupcakes while she was visiting last weekend … but really, it’s not the same.

I actually did make Raspberry Rhubarb Crisp because I was thinking of my mother today. I’ve kind of had rhubarb on the brain lately and I can’t think of it without also thinking of my mother. For no particular reason except that I know she likes it. The tart sourness is right up her alley.

Most people pair rhubarb with strawberries and I think that’s a perfectly fine combination, but I prefer to have my rhubarb with raspberries. I like keeping the tartness right in the forefront of the dish. I think my mother would agree. I kept it simple, some fruit, a little bit of sugar and a oatmeal-brown sugar-butter topping. Fruit crisp in all of its deliciousness.

Raspberry Rhubarb Crisp

serves 6
**********
3 cups cut rhubarb, in 1/2 inch pieces
1 1/2 cups raspberries, fresh or frozen
2/3 cup sugar
1 tablespoon corn starch
1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup oats
1/2 cup brown sugar
4 tablespoons butter, melted
**********

Chop the rhubarb.

Put rhubarb, raspberries, sugar and corn starch in a large bowl.

Toss until berries and rhubarb are evenly coated.

Transfer to a medium glass baking dish.

Now for the oatmeal topping.

Mix together flour, oatmeal and brown sugar.

Mix in the melted butter.

Top berries with streusel.

Bake at 350º for about an hour. The berries should be thick and bubbly and the crust a nice golden brown.

I topped mine with some freshly whipped cream and a sprig of mint (but vanilla ice cream is also a perfect accompaniment).

These color make me want to swoon. So does the aroma … and of course the burst of flavors.

I made, ate and enjoyed this purely for my mother’s sake. I was only thinking of her.

Sorry, but I don’t think it will ship well.

5 responses to “Raspberry Rhubarb Crisp

  1. Oh my goodness meleah, you bring tears to my eyes…I am glad you could enjoy it for me. Love you bunches. I am so proud to have you as my daughter (purple hair and nose ring even!)

  2. Oh yeah, you did your mamma proud with this recipe 🙂 Combining raspberries and rhubarb is a match made in Fruit Crisp Heaven…aahhh just thinking of this combo makes me pucker and sigh…it’s (finally, almost) summer in the Pacific Northwest, YUM!

  3. Just stumbled on your blog looking for a Raspberry Rhubarb Crisp
    recipe to follow. I like your recipes and that your now a Minnesota girl! If our family was not here in Minnesota, we would high-tail it to Florida in a hearbeat. Best of luck and I will keep reading!!

  4. Pingback: Roasted Rhu-Berry Crunch Ice-Cream | Puck and Kudzu

  5. Pingback: The Return of Rhubarb | Puck and Kudzu

Leave a Reply

