Minted Lemonade Fizz

It seems as though the weather has finally turned. The temperatures have been in the 80’s for the past couple of days. It seems entirely foreign to have it so nice here in Minneapolis. However, apparently this unexpected hot weather means tornadoes. There is nothing scarier to me than the threat of a tornado. Sirens, funnel clouds, tennis-sized hail – I want nothing to do with it. I’ll take hurricanes, earthquakes and volcanoes over tornadoes any day. But that’s just me.

And the light was spoo-ooky as the storm was passing through, right at sunset.

This hot weather has got me craving ice cold lemonade. Now prepare yourself – I am about to say something nice about the food scene in Gainesville. The Jones Eastside makes the best mint lemonade that I have ever had. Talk about a double wammy of freshness – lemon and mint. I get it everytime Scott and I go there (which is pretty often, as it is one of very few decent restaurants in that town). The only way it could be improved upon was if it fizzed.

Luckily, last weekend my mother indulged in my slight obsession with sparkling water, and got me this. Have I mentioned before how much she spoils me? So I set out to create a minted lemonade fizz.

Minted Lemonade Fizz

serves 2
**********
2 lemons, sliced
1/2 cup mint leaves
1/2 cup lemon juice
1/3 cup sugar
2 cups sparkling water
**********

In a large bowl combine lemon slices, mint leaves, lemon juice and sugar.

Muddle them all together, making sure that all of the juices are released from the lemon slices.

Then run the mash through a strainer.

I did rescue the mint leaves from the strainer – I like having something to munch on as I sip. Add the sparkling water and mix.

Serve over ice and take in the freshness.

If I were a braver soul, I would have sat with this drink out on my front stoop and watched the storm pass. But then I would have needed to add vodka to make it a cocktail (which I am sure would be delicious as well).

Leave a Reply

