Sesame Ginger Cookies

I made cookies again.

I can’t help myself. It just seemed the thing to do on a Sunday morning.

I had been thinking about these cookies – Sesame Ginger Cookies – for about a week or so. But, as always, I wasn’t going to tempt myself by making an entire batch of cookies – it is just me after all. So when I got a text from some friends of mine inviting me over to play in their garden, I knew it was the perfect opportunity to make up a batch. I stumbled across this recipe in a cookie-centric issue of Cooking Light a few years back and I find myself making at least a couple of times a year. This time I decided to add some ginger and I think fits in wonderfully well.

Baking really does astound me. To take a table full of ingredients, none of which resemble food (aside from an egg, which I forgot to include in the photograph) and turn it to something that people want to eat is nothing short of magic.

(Okay, not really magic … but it does astound me).

Sesame Ginger Cookies

adapted from Cooking Light, makes about 20 cookies

**********
1 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch
1 teaspoon ground ginger
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/3 cup tahini
2 tablespoons dark sesame oil
1 tablespoon corn syrup
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 large egg
3 tablespoons raw sugar
**********

Whisk together flour, ginger, cornstarch, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, combine brown sugar, tahini and sesame oil. Beat on medium speed until well blended.

Beat in corn syrup, vanilla and egg. Blend well.


Add in flour mixture slowly. Mix dough on low speed until combined.

Form dough into balls, about 1 1/2 inch in diameter (about 20).

Roll dough ball around in a bowl containing raw sugar, pressing sugar into the outside of the ball.

Transfer cookies to cookie sheet. Flatten slightly with the bottom of a glass.

Bake at 375º for 10 minutes. Let cookies cool on sheet 2 minutes before transferring to a baking rack. Or eating.

I know sesame is kind of an non-traditional flavor for a cookie, but hey, I am kind of a non-traditional girl. And these cookies are good. Trust me.

2 responses to “Sesame Ginger Cookies

  1. I was hoping you’d post this recipe. I love these cookies so much! I even had one for breakfast.

  2. These do look good. If you’re going to live in Minnesota and blog about food, how about trying to whip up some lutefisk and letting us know how it turns out?

Leave a Reply

