A Fed-worthy salad

Bear with me for a moment. Scott is back in Durham right now and I am being eaten alive by jealousy. There are the obvious reasons – seeing old friends and colleagues. But what really gets me is the Federal. I am pretty sure he has eaten there at least three times since last Thursday. I can’t really blame him – it is the Federal after all. Not only do they have a regular menu, they also have daily specials that change every single day. And always on that specials menu is a salad. A huge plate with some fruit, nuts and cheese all on a bed of perfectly dressed field greens. When the irresistible pork belly is not on the menu, without a doubt I would get the specials salad (or the grilled cheese – but let’s not get started with that).

I don’t often make salad dressing. In fact I only have two that I make: balsamic vinegariette and a sesame and poppy seed dressing. The latter pairs wonderfully well with strawberries and is my current obsession, given how incredibly sweet the strawberries are right now.

Sesame and Poppy Seed Dressing

makes about 2/3 cup

**********
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup white wine vinegar
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon paprika
1 tablespoon poppy seeds
2 tablespoons sesame seeds
**********

In a jar combine oil, vinegar, sugar, paprika, poppy and sesame seeds.

Shake vigorously.

As for the salad I tossed some baby arugula, strawberries, goat cheese and roasted walnuts.

De-lic-ous.

It’s almost like eating at the Federal.

Except not at all. I still wish I was back in Durham with Scott and company.

Leave a Reply

