To market, to market

I woke up early this morning.

Like 7:30 am. On a Saturday.

I don’t even wake up that early during the week (the life of an academic).

Why?

I was on a mission. I went to a farmer’s market a couple of weeks ago and was deeply disappointed by the lack of produce available. (I don’t know why I was surprised – we have had like the worst winter in Minnesota ever). But still, how can you have a farmer’s market with no produce? So this week I vowed that I would check out the selection right as the market opened, at 8:00 am.

I drug myself out of bed and onto my bike and worked my way to the Minneapolis Midtown Farmers Market. And tried not to be too hopeful about the promise of asparagus and rhubarb that their website offered.

First I found some coffee.

Then … produce success!

I scored some rhubarb, asparagus and spring onions. Now, I wouldn’t say there was a plethora of produce and some vendors only could offer canned versions of last year’s harvest.

But, it is a promising start to the season.

Now, what to make with my treasures?

Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

