Spring onion soup

I bought green onions at the farmers market yesterday.

They begged me to take them home.

I couldn’t resist.

Only I had no idea what to make with them. I wanted something insanely onion-y, as I had just bought these and really wanted to showcase their flavor. But I don’t really have any recipes that call for onions as the main ingredient. Onions have only played a supporting role in my dishes.

Until now.

I stumbled upon a spring onion soup on Epicurious.com and decided to give it a try. I have to admit, the entire time I was making it, I didn’t have high expectations. I’ve never been one for onion soup and I felt like I was just making it to deal with the green onions that I had bought on a whim. I certainly wasn’t feeling inspired by this dish. The recipe calls for vermouth and Angustura bitters which I found intriguing, but wasn’t sure how I was going to like it.

I was half expecting to have to throw out the entire pot.

I was pleasantly surprised. There was an intensity of flavor that I wasn’t expecting. The garlic croutons were what really made the soup special (of course the white cheddar and green onion biscuits weren’t a bad accompaniment either). As with any soup, it was even better today, reheated for lunch.

I think this one may be going into my recipe box.

Spring Onion Soup

adapted slightly from Gourmet

Serves 4
**********
Spring Onion Soup
2 Vidallia onions, diced
2 tablespoons butter
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
4 large garlic cloves, minced
2/3 cup dry vermouth
6 cups broth (chicken or vegetable)
1 1/2 tablespoon Angustura bitters
3 cups green onions
 
Garlic Croutons
12 slices 1/2 inch thick french baguette
3 tablespoons olive oil
2 teaspoons garlic salt
**********

The soup.

In a large pot, cook the onions in the butter and the oil over moderate heat, stirring occasionally, for 25 to 30 minutes, or until they are soft and pale golden, add the garlic, and cook the mixture for 3 minutes. Stir in the vermouth and boil the mixture until most of the liquid is evaporated. Add the broth, the bitters, and salt and pepper to taste and simmer the soup for 5 minutes. Transfer soup to a blender and puree until smooth. Stir in the green onion.

The garlic croutons.

Preheat the oven to 375°F. With a serrated knife cut the bread into 3/4-inch cubes. Toss bread cubes with olive oil and garlic salt. In a shallow baking pan arrange the bread cubes in one layer, bake them in the middle of the oven, stirring occasionally, for 15 minutes, or until they are golden.

2 responses to “Spring onion soup

  1. Another good use for green onions is salad dressing. There’s a recipe in Paul Prudhomme’s Louisiana Kitchen for a delicious mayonnaise-esque salad dressing in which green onions play a leading role. Now that you’ve reminded me of this possibility, I think I’ll have to make some later this month when I’m back in North Carolina (I have minimal kitchen equipment here in California).

  2. Pingback: Roasted Corn and Potato Chowder | Puck and Kudzu

Leave a Reply

