Lime Pecan Butter Cookies

These cookies were responsible for my desperate desire for a stand mixer.

Lime Pecan Butter Cookies.

They look simple enough. And they are – if you don’t mind beating butter and sugar together for a loooong time.

I like these cookies. They have some zest to them (pun intended) but all of the comfort of a traditional shortbread. I remember the first time I made these cookies. It was while I was in graduate school and my parents were visiting Durham, I think over 4th of July. I decided to have some people over to my place on Oakland, despite having my living room ceiling cave in just days before, to prove to my parents that I had friends or something silly like that. We drank mojitos and ate these cookies. And as with most parties, the sexes segregated but interestingly the females gathered in the living room and the males in the kitchen. I think it’s because that was where the drinks were being made…

And I vowed never to make them again until I had a stand mixer.

Which I do now.

(Thank you mom, once again for the best birthday present ever)

Lime Pecan Butter Cookies

From Williams Sonoma

Makes ~35 cookies
**********
2 cups flour
1/4 cup cornstarch
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup sugar, divided
1 cup chopped pecans
1 lime (zest and juice)
3/4 cup butter
1 egg white
**********

Beat butter and 1/2 cup sugar until really light and fluffy, ~ 5 minutes.

While the butter and sugar are beating (and this is the beauty of the stand mixer), sift together the flour, cornstarch and salt. Set aside.

Back to the stand mixer and the butter and sugar. Add the lime juice, the zest and egg white. Beat until really really light and fluffy, ~ 8 minutes (this is what killed me last time with my hand mixer).

While this is beating, dig out the food processor and combine the pecans and 1/4 cup sugar. Pulse until uniformly pulverized. Set aside.

 

Gradually add the flour mixture to the butter mixture. Mix until just combined.

And then gently mix in the pecan mixture.

Now take a spoonful of dough, roll it into a ball, set in on a cookie sheet and flatten it to about 1/2 inch thick.

Bake at 350º for about 23 minutes.

To be enjoyed immediately. Or set aside for other uses … to be described later.

One response to “Lime Pecan Butter Cookies

  1. YUM! I love how you combined Lime and Pecan!! You are so smart! 😀

Leave a Reply

