Rhubarb Crostini

And my obsession with rhubarb continues.

Crostini with honeyed goat cheese and balsamic rhubarb.

It’s a mouthful, I know. At least it’s a yummy one.

This here is a semi-savory rhubarb dish. It’s a delightful combination of things I love: rhubarb, bread, cheese and mint. And astonishingly easy to prepare.

But let’s talk about crostini first. I love the idea of little pieces of toasted bread topped with well, whatever you want. It makes a fantastic first course – something to help tide me over until I am finished with dinner. Often it’s with tomatoes, mozzarella and basil – but this rhubarb version is equally delicious.

Crostini with honeyed goat cheese and balsamic rhubarb

**********
Balsamic Rhubarb Compote (adapted from Gourmet)
3 stalks rhubarb, diced
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
 
sliced baguette pieces
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon olive oil
 
2 ounces goat cheese with honey
1/2 cup chopped mint
**********

For compote:

In a small pot, bring balsamic vinegar, sugar and ginger to a simmer. Add rhubarb and cook for 1-2 minutes.

Transfer rhubarb with a slotted spoon to a bowl. Continue to cook vinegar mixture until thick, about 5 minutes. Add to rhubarb.

For crostini:

Mix lemon juice and olive oil together. Season with salt and pepper. Spread lemon oil over sliced baguette and broil in oven until toasted, 3-4 minutes. Spread goat cheese over warm toasts. Add rhubarb compote and top with mint.

You might think that the tartness of the rhubarb might not play well with the balsamic vinegar. But you would be wrong. Especially when you mix it with the sweetness of the honeyed goat cheese.

3 responses to “Rhubarb Crostini

  1. I too am a rhubarb fanatic—I don’t grow it myself, but seek it out at any one of our wonderful Farmer’s Markets here in Seattle. I tried your raspberry rhubarb crisp, which was truly amazing! I am looking forward to trying this recipe. (FYI, Trader Joe’s has a delicious and affordable honey goat cheese.) I wanted to give you feedback about the photo of the rhubarb in the top two pictures. The top photo shows some leaf material at the end of each stalk of rhubarb. The picture under it shows greens on top of the of rhubarb compote. The recipe calls for mint, but the greens in the photo also look similar to the rhubarb greens, which, I’m sure you know, but others may not know that rhubarb greens can be quite toxic.

    • Thanks for the comments. This is mint on top of the crostini and not rhubarb leaves (which are indeed toxic). I guess I should go back and put a note on my rhubarb posts …. technically the leaves contain oxalic acid and one would need to consume about ~11 pounds of leaves to receive a lethal dose. Although I would imagine that a smaller dose may result in a stomach ache.

  2. Pingback: The Return of Rhubarb | Puck and Kudzu

Leave a Reply

