Lemon Curd Blueberry Tartlette

You know that phrase: “Easy as pie?”

I think it should be amended to: “Easy as tartlette.”

Okay, so maybe it doesn’t have the same ring to it. But I think this particular tartlette, with lemon curd and blueberries, is even easier than pie.

I’ve gone a little blueberry-crazy lately. I think it has to do with the buy one pint, get one pint free sale going on at the market lately. I used to be fairly blueberry- ambivalent. Not crazy about them, but not quite a hater. I could easily do without blueberry pancakes or blueberries and cream, but I certainly wouldn’t refuse to eat them either. Then I stumbled upon the lemon-blueberry combination at some point in my adulthood and I’ve been enchanted ever since.

I decided to make a tartlette because I am trying really hard to recognize the fact that I live by myself and probably shouldn’t consume an entire full-sized dessert by myself. It is swimsuit season afterall.

The tart crust is from Mark Bittman. I went ahead and made the entire recipe and then quartered the dough and stuck 3/4 of them in the freezer – to be used whenever the next tartlette whim comes upon me.

Lemon Curd Blueberry Tartlette

makes one 4 1/2 inch tartlette + 3 more tartlette crusts

**********
Crust
1 1/4 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons sugar
10 tablespoons cold butter
1 egg
3 tablespoons ice-cold water
 
1/3 cup Lemon Curd
 
1/3 cup fresh blueberries
**********

In a food processor, combine flour, salt and sugar. Pulse a couple of times to mix. Add butter, pulse ~30 seconds until uniform. Add egg, pulse another ~30 seconds until uniform.

Transfer to a bowl and add water. With your hands, mix until dough forms a ball. Divide into 4 mini-balls (each one is perfect for a single 4 1/2 inch diameter tartlette pan). Wrap in plastic and store either in the freezer (for long term storage, good for a couple of weeks) or in the refrigerator (for short-term storage, good for a couple of days). Chill for at least 30 minutes.

On a floured surface, roll chilled dough out to slightly larger than your tartlette pan. Transfer to tartlette pan, making sure to press dough into all of the nooks and cranies. Pierce dough with fork and pre-bake at 425º for 10 minutes, reduce oven temperature to 350° and bake for ten more minutes. Let cool before filling.

Heat lemon curd in the microwave until fluid, about 30 seconds. Spread into tartlette shell. Top with fresh blueberries.

It’s a good thing I only made a single tartlette. I could have easily eaten another one.

The beauty of this tartlette is that it isn’t limited to just blueberries. I am sure this would be just as good with strawberries or raspberries or any combination thereof.

One response to “Lemon Curd Blueberry Tartlette

  1. Mmm, I’d love to sink my teeth into that tart. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog till Monday night and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your tartlette up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/06/sweets-for-saturday-23.html

Leave a Reply

