I’m screaming … for ice cream!

I’ve significantly increased my dairy intake.

With ice cream.

Delicious ice cream.

That I’ve made myself. With this.

No sooner is the ice cream bowl washed and put back in the freezer and I am whipping up the next batch.

It’s starting to become a problem. Mostly because I don’t have space in my freezer for the ice cream bowl and all of the ice creams I am making.

*sigh*

It’s a difficult problem to have.

I just can’t help myself.

Lemon-Blueberry-Vanilla

Strawberry Sour Cream

Mango Rum Sorbet

I am not going to lie. There have been several days in the past week when I’ve had ice cream for dinner (and possibly breakfast as well…). We had a heat wave (again) in Minneapolis and ice cream was the only thing I could bring myself to eat. It’s chock full of fruit so I refuse to feel guilty about it.

(Plus, due to the abundance of salad greens in my CSA boxes, I’ve been consuming a LOT of salads)

Cold. Smooth. Creamy. I love how it slides down your throat and cools you down from the inside out.

And those colors!

*swoon*

And just a couple of ingredients – it couldn’t be simpler. I almost immediately went out and got The Perfect Scoop by David Lebovitz. And the man knows his ice cream.

I’m in love. It’s going to be a delicious summer.

Lemon-Blueberry Vanilla Ice Cream

makes 1 pint
 
**********
2 cups blueberries
1/2 cup sugar
lemon peel from one lemon
1 vanilla bean
juice from 1 lemon
1 tablespoon blood orange liquour
1 cup cream
1/2 whole milk
**********

In a small saucepan, simmer blueberries, sugar, vanilla bean lemon peel and juice over medium heat until berries start to burst, about 5 minutes. Transfer to blender. Add milk, cream and liquour. Blend until smooth. Strain mixture. Chill completely. Churn in pre-chilled ice cream maker.

Strawberry Sour Cream Ice Cream

From David Lebovitz’s The Perfect Scoop

**********
2/3 pound fresh strawberries
1/2 cup sugar
2 tablespoons vodka
2/3 cup sour cream
2/3 cup heavy cream
splash of lemon juice
**********

Slice strawberries and toss with the sugar and vodka. Let strawberries macerate for at least an hour (this helps make the ice cream the most fantastically hot pink color). Pulse strawberries, sour cream and heavy cream in blender or food processor – I did this just enough to mix everything together – I wanted to have chunks of strawberries in my ice cream. Chill completely and then freeze in ice cream maker.

Mango-Rum Sorbet

From David Lebovitz’s The Perfect Scoop
**********
2 large ripe mangoes
2/3 cup sugar
2/3 cups water
juice from 1 lime
1 tablespoon dark rum
pinch of salt
**********

Peel mangoes and cut flesh away from pit. Squeeze mango pits into blender to extract all the pulp possible. Blend mango, sugar, water, lime juice, rum and and salt. Chill completely and freeze in ice cream maker.

Leave a Reply

