Pie Party

Thanks to social networking, I invited myself to a Pie Party. I heard about it on Twitter from Gluten Free Girl and knew that I wanted to participate. It’s all about celebrating our love of pie and the fruits of summer. The mission: Make pie and blog about it on July 5.

So I thought long and hard about what kind of pie I wanted to make. I knew that I wanted it to feature rhubarb, because, well I just can’t shake this infatuation. And this may be my last stab for a rhubarb treat before the season comes to an end. So I decided to have my hand at a rhubarb meringue pie.

And I thought it turned out entirely decent. But a weird thing happened. Upon cutting into the pie – it was apparent that it was swimming in liquid. What was odd about it is that despite all of the liquid, nothing was actually soggy. So while it tasted good – it was not a pretty sight.

But it did inspire this.

Rhubarb Curd Tart with Strawberries and Raspberries

Sweet and tangy rhubarb curd on top of a graham cracker crust, topped with fresh strawberries and raspberries.

I was pleased with how delightfully rhubarb the curd tasted. And the brilliant pink color makes my heart go pitter-pat. Perhaps my favorite rhubarb concoction to date (although it’s difficult to choose between all of the rhubarb recipes I’ve been making).

And definitely Pie-Party worthy.

Rhubarb Curd Tartlette with Fresh Berries

Makes two 4 1/2 inch tartlettes
**********
Graham Cracker Crust
1/2 cup graham cracker crumbs (about 3 crackers)
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
3 tablespoons melted butter
 
Rhubarb Curd
1/2 cup sugar
2 tablespoons cornstarch
2 egg yolks
1 cup rhubarb juice
2 tablespoons butter
 
Fresh strawberries and raspberries
2 tablespoons raspberry jam
**********

For the crust:

Combine the graham cracker crumbs, sugar and melted butter in a food processor. Pulse until all combined. Press 3 tablespoons into each tartlette pan, pressing into all of the nooks and cranies. Pre-bake at 350º for 10 minutes. Let crust cool completely before filling.

For the rhubarb curd:

Whisk together sugar, cornstarch and egg yolks. Place over a pot of simmering water. Slowly add rhubarb juice, continuing to whisk. Cook until curd thickens, whisking constantly, about 10 minutes. Take off heat and whisk in butter.

Pour into the tart shells (you will have leftovers – simply cover and keep in the refrigerator or make more tartlettes!). Top with strawberries and raspberries. Heat raspberry jam and brush over berries.

Yay for pie. And for parties.

2 responses to “Pie Party

  1. Pingback: The Return of Rhubarb | Puck and Kudzu

  2. Pingback: More Baking Therapy | Puck and Kudzu

Leave a Reply

