CSA Week 7: Broccoli White Cheddar Soup

How is it I have another box of vegetables already?

(And aren’t they pretty with all of their bright and vibrant colors?)

Kudzu seemed to find this an interesting development.

I am starting to feel overwhelmed. I still have broccoli and garlic from last week. And then I get even more this week.

What’s a girl to do?

I decided to make soup. Broccoli white cheddar soup to be precise. It’s one of my favorites. And to be perfectly honest, the weather yesterday sort of begged for soup to be made.

I will say this. Minneapolis weather is intense. Including the summer thunderstorms. You can see how dark and foreboding it was afternoon.

(Don’t ask how my lab bay became home to the rhino and the dinosaur. I certainly don’t.)

So soup it was. If the temps get back into the 100’s like they are predicting, then I will just add the leftovers to my already over-packed freezer. There are several things that I like about this soup. 1) It uses the broccoli stems – no waste! 2) Despite the use of cheese and cream – this soup is not actually that heavy and 3) I love the use of tarragon it brings such a subtle, yet distinctive flavor.

Broccoli White Cheddar Soup
adapted from Bon Appetit, February 2001

**********
3 tablespoons butter
3 heads of broccoli, flored and stems separated and chopped into bite-size pieces
1/2 sweet onion, chopped
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 teaspoon dried tarragon
5 cups chicken broth
1 tablespoon cornstarch
1 tablespoon water
1/2 cup cream
1 cup white cheddar cheese, grated
**********
 

Heat butter in a large stock pot and add onions and broccoli stems.  Cook over medium heat until onion is translusent, ~ 6 minutes.


Add garlic and tarragon. Saute about a minute.


Add chicken broth, simmer for about 15 minutes, or until broccoli stems are tender. In a small bowl, mix cornstarch and water together, until cornstarch is dissolved. Whisk into soup. Add broccoli florets.


Transfer about half of the soup to a blender and puree until smooth. Add back to soup pot. Stir in cream and white cheddar.

I decided to top mine with some extra-sharp cheddar as well. And then it had that signature broccoli-cheddar look to it.

One response to “CSA Week 7: Broccoli White Cheddar Soup

  1. Pingback: Roasted Corn and Potato Chowder | Puck and Kudzu

Leave a Reply

