Lemon Raspberry Pancakes

After surviving the past couple of weeks of teaching, I am ready to start thinking about food again.

One of the things that I love about my apartment is the seriously large raspberry patch in the backyard. And the berries are ripe right now. I love raspberries. They are my favorites of all of the berries. Something about that whole sweet-tart thing, gets me every time. So I picked as many as I possibly could. It was a pretty serious haul.

Then I treated myself to a surprisingly awesome weekend breakfast: Lemon Raspberry Pancakes. They are a riff of these Blueberry Brown Sugar Pancakes. Bright, fresh, buttery amazing-ness. I normally think of myself as more of a french toast girl, but these pancakes might turn me to the dark side. It’s crazy to think they are sanctioned as a breakfast food – they could easily work as dessert.

Lemon Raspberry Pancakes

makes 6 large pancakes

**********
1 egg
3/4 cup milk
3 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoons butter, melted
Zest and juice from 1 small lemon
3/4 cup + 2 tablespoons flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup raspberries
**********

In a small bowl, whisk together egg, milk, brown sugar, melted butter, lemon zest and juice.

In a separate, larger bowl, mix together flour, baking powder and salt.

Mix wet ingredients in with the dry ingredients.

Fold in raspberries.

In a frying pan, heat a tablespoon of butter. Add about 1/3 cup of the pancake batter and cook until bubbles start to form on top. Don’t try to flip it too soon! (I always am to impatient to wait, but it’s totally worth the patience). Flip and cook for about 2 minutes more.

Garnish with extra berries and just a smidge of maple syrup.

Holy cow.

Leave a Reply

