The Pacific Northwest

I have a hard time describing my feelings for the Pacific Northwest. It’s kind of like asking me why I love my best friend. You can say things like – she’s friendly, generous and has a fantastic sense of humor. Warm and inviting and ever appreciative. Smart and clever with a twinkle in her eye. But that could describe a lot of people. It’s hard to articulate exactly what it is that makes her so special.

All I can say is there exists a chemistry, an affinity, a synergy, if you will, between a person and a place. It’s not only the place but my reaction to it. And there is something about the Pacific Northwest that always makes me want to cry. Big, beautiful tears that are filled with love and admiration. The tears you cry at a wedding or graduation or the birth of a new person. Just being able to exist with such a place and to be able to call it home is a huge part of what makes me, me. And I love that.

So to come home to this beauty, to the majesty of the Pacific Northwest, where water surrounds the land and the mountains rise above fills my heart with joy in such a way that my heart is simultaneously lightened and unbelievably full. It doesn’t matter how long it’s been since your last visit, like an old friend, it welcomes you with open arms and gives you a much-needed hug. No questions asked, no awkward small talk – just straight to the heart. I have no words to adequately describe it.

It’s good to be back in this corner of the world.

One response to “The Pacific Northwest

  1. Pingback: Swampkins* | Puck and Kudzu

Leave a Reply

