Zucchini Bread

Well before I even started this blog (yikes – I’ve been blogging for a year now!), one of my favorite things to do on a weekend morning is to peruse my arsenal of cookbooks, magazines and apps for recipes. Often I’ll search by ingredient and take in all of the possibilities of what to do with it. Sweet or savory? Simple or complex? Breakfast, lunch, dinner or dessert? I’m not going to lie – it can be overwhelming. That’s why sometimes I go straight to my mom’s recipe collection.

A few years back, my mother typed up ALL of her recipes in her collection so that she could have digital copies of everything and that Christmas, assembled them into a well-organized recipe book for my brother and I. Just flipping through it brings back cherished childhood memories of my grandmother and old family friends. So when I noticed a a lone zucchini in my fridge this past weekend, I knew I could turn to my recipe book and find something to do with it. And indeed I did – Spiced Zucchini Walnut Bread.

I was over the moon over this bread. It has the a crunchy crust and moist interior. And the occasional green fleck from the zucchini is nothing short of cheery. Spiced, but not overly so. Cooked all the way through (something I sometimes have issues with) but not so dry that you need to slather it with butter – in fact don’t even try to cover up the deliciousness with it. It’s one of those times that I was glad that I didn’t have to share it with Scott or bring it into lab – I got to enjoy it all. And enjoy it, I did.

Spiced Zucchini Walnut Bread

makes one loaf

**********
2 eggs, beaten light and foamy
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup shredded zucchini (unpeeled)
1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon allspice
1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
**********

In a large bowl, beat the eggs, sugar, zucchini, cinnamon and allspice until well combined.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, baking powder and walnuts. (Tossing the walnuts in the flour prior to folding into the batter will help prevent them from sinking while baking).

Stir the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until a batter forms. Pour into a buttered loaf pan and bake at 350º for about an hour.

That’s it. Easy as pie. Easier in fact. (But just as tasty).

Eat it for breakfast or brunch. Eat it after dinner. Eat it at 2:30 in the afternoon.

5 responses to “Zucchini Bread

  1. making some right now!

  2. Enjoy! What are your tricks for making it gluten-free?

  3. i make a gluten free flour blend {found in this post by gluten free girl http://glutenfreegirl.com/gluten-free-rhubarb-muffins/} and your recipe. the key is baking by weight: 140 grams or 5 ounces of this flour blend = one cup of regular flour. easy peasy and no one ever suspects!

  4. your mom’s zucchini bread is better than my mom’s zucchini bread. we just devoured half a loaf fresh out of the oven. yum.

  5. Pingback: Just Because … Oatmeal Cookies | Puck and Kudzu

Leave a Reply

