Watermelon Lemon Sorbet

The end of summer.

Already the evening light is leaving earlier and earlier. (Which reminds me that I really need to buy a light for my bike). And there have been some mornings in the past week where I was glad to have my cardigan on. The kiddies have come back to campus, fresh-faced and excited to be moving back into the residence halls. It’s an exciting time – this changing of seasons.

Part of me can’t wait for the autumn harvest. Apples, butternut squash, leeks and potatoes. But there is another, not insignificant part of me that is desperate to hang on to summer. I’ve tried to smother the memories of last winter and I would do anything to not have to live through another one in Minnesota, or anywhere in the Midwest for that matter. I am already planning a tropical vacation to escape it all.

So today, the start of September, as summer is leaving with a bang and a high of 95º – I am going to share with you the watermelon and lemon sorbet that I made this past weekend. There happened to be a watermelon in last week’s CSA box, a yellow doll (I think I shrieked a little at how unexpectedly yellow it was) and I was surprised at how flavorful it was. Now, I am going to confess something – I am not a huge watermelon fan. Something about the texture, I think. But this watermelon had just such a fantastic taste that made me want to lock it away in a time capsule to open up in the dead of January when the high is below zero and the sun is nowhere to be seen. So I consulted me ice cream books and found a recipe for Watermelon Lemon Sorbet.

I love how yellow this sorbet is. Bright and sunny and frozen freshness. Because there is so much water in the melon puree, this sorbet instantly melts when it hits your tongue. I love that. The only problem is there is no way this is going to last me until January. It may not even last through the weekend…

Watermelon Lemon Sorbet

from Jeni’s Spendid Ice Creams at Home

makes about 1 pint

**********
1/2 small watermelon
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
1/4 cup granulated sugar
2 tablespoons corn syrup
**********

Cut watermelon in 2 inch pieces and remove seeds. Puree in food processor. Measure out 1 1/2 cups of the puree (if there is any puree left over may I suggest a watermelon infused cocktail?) and set aside.

In a small saucepan, combine the sugar, lemon juice and corn syrup. Bring to a boil and stir until the sugar dissolves. Remove from heat. Whisk in lemon simple syrup into the watermelon puree.

Chill thoroughly. Freeze in an ice cream maker.

And try not to eat it all in one sitting.

 

Leave a Reply

