Laboring over Labor Day Weekend…kind of

I have a confession to make.

I have developed a serious addiction to Dr. Who. Don’t worry, I’m not going to geek out on you. I just thought you deserved some context for the rest of the post. I blame Scott  for introducing me to the Doctor and his companion and their quest to save the earth (and Netflix instant streaming for being an enabler). The problem is once you start – you can’t stop. I’ve made it through 4 seasons in a matter of weeks.

It started innocently enough. An episode or two right before I would go to sleep (by the way – the iPad is awesome for watching shows in bed – in case you were interested.) It was entertaining and novel and a welcome break from the 3rd of 4th iteration of Mad Men. And then, without even realizing it, I was hooked. Mostly I think it’s because David Tennant is just so damn cute and cheeky. So, by the time this weekend rolled in – well, I just couldn’t help myself. I am not even going to say how many episodes I flew through.

Normally, this sort of behavior makes me feel terrible about myself. Lazing about watching one episode and not even pausing before starting the next one. Hours just disappear before you and soon the weekend is over. Pathetic, I know. In order to avoid this kind of self-loathing and justify my latest addiction, I started sewing again.

Bobbins, pleats, zippers and buttons, oh my!

And made four, count them, FOUR, skirts. What can I say? Apparently, I am the type of person who, once she starts something, gets a little obsessive about it. There is just something so innately satisfying about creating something out of nothing (and unlike my kitchen creations, having it last for more than 15 minutes). Plus I have the ability to pick and choose the colors and patterns that appeal to me and can add something one-of-a-kind to my wardrobe.

Unsurprisingly, I had some “help.”

Some was relatively benign.

And some was not.

But I managed somehow. Not quite ready for Project Runway, but slowly remembering all the tricks – at least for a simple knee-length A-line skirt.

Each skirt posed a new challenge for my less-than-talented hands.

Stripes on one skirt and pleats on another.

Decorative ribbons and buttons. (Decorative in the truest sense – the buttons aren’t actually functional but are stylishly hiding snaps.)

I have to say, I am quite pleased with my handiwork…

One response to “Laboring over Labor Day Weekend…kind of

  1. I’m not a Dr. Who fan, but I must say, weeping angels are a stroke of genius. They really are creepy, and because they never move when anyone’s watching them, they save loads of money on special effects.

    By the way, it’s always lovely to see Puck and Kudzu. Tonya agrees.

Leave a Reply

