Salted Oatmeal White Chocolate Cookies

Sometimes a girl just has to make cookies.

I don’t have a heartfelt story for these. No childhood nostalgia or celebrating the changing of the seasons. I just wanted to make cookies. Perhaps it was my lack of time in the kitchen over the weekend or because … well … because I just thought cookies sounded good. So at 11 pm on a random Tuesday night, that’s exactly what I did.

I knew that I wanted oatmeal cookies, the crispy, lighter-than-air kind. So I went searching and found this recipe over at Smitten Kitchen. And I had just the salt that I wanted to use to make these “salted.” While I was in Vancouver in July, I had wandered the farmer’s market and came across a whole variety of flavored sea salts. I indulged myself and bought myself three, including a blackberry-infused sea salt. And that, my friends, is what I used to sprinkle on these cookies.

I have to say, these cookies hit the spot. Sweet, but not too sweet, and just a little salty. I’ll say it again: sometimes a girl just has to make cookies. And sometimes a girl’s colleagues reap the benefits of her whims. So, you’re welcome, the 6th floor lunchroom.

Salted Oatmeal White Chocolate Cookies

from Smitten Kitchen

makes about 2 dozen
 
**********
14 tablespoons butter
1 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon table salt
2 1/2 cups oats
6 oz white chocolate
1/2 teaspoon flaky sea salt, for sprinkling
**********

Beat butter and both sugars together until light and fluffy. Beat in egg and vanilla.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Slowly add to butter and sugar mixture.

Gradually add oats and chopped white chocolate.

Scoop about 2 tablespoons dough and roll it into a ball. Flatten with fingers until about 1/2 inch tall. Sprinkle with a few flakes of sea salt. Bake at 350º for about 15 minutes.

Sometimes a girl just has to bake cookies.

One response to “Salted Oatmeal White Chocolate Cookies

  1. Pingback: Just Because … Oatmeal Cookies | Puck and Kudzu

Leave a Reply

