Cinnamon Ice Cream

I am not even close to finished with my homemade ice cream obsession. Despite my disappointment with the end of summer, a secret part of me has been patiently waiting for the weather to turn cooler so that I can start making some more hearty ice creams. Including Cinnamon Ice Cream. No other spice says autumn quite like cinnamon does.

I love this ice cream … although to be fair, I have only eaten it with Apple Brown Betty. But I am okay with that.

Hooray for apple season!

Unsurprisingly, I got this recipe for The Perfect Scoop, by David Lebowitz. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – the man knows his ice creams. Similar to vanilla ice cream, cinnamon sticks (in lieu of a vanilla bean) are steeped in the milk/cream/sugar before the egg yolks are added to make a custard. David’s recipe calls for only cinnamon sticks, but I used both sticks and ground cinnamon and thought the cinnamon flavor came through nicely, but I should point out I was using Vietnamese cinnamon, which is more intense that regular old ground cinnamon.

FYI: 1 stick = 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon.

Make this ice cream. And then make this apple brown betty. It’s almost enough to make me fall in love with fall….

Cinnamon Ice Cream

adapted from The Perfect Scoop

makes about 1 quart

**********
2 cups whole milk, divided
1 cup heavy cream
3/4 cup granulated sugar
Pinch of salt
5, 3-inch cinnamon sticks
2 1/2 teaspoons ground Vietnamese cinnamon
5 large egg yolks
**********

Warm 1 cup milk, cream, sugar, salt and cinnamon in a medium saucepan. Once warm, steam should be rising from the milk and the sugar should be dissolved, remove from heat and cover. Let steep for at least an hour.

Remove the cinnamon sticks and re-warm the mixture. Pour remaining milk into a batter bowl and set a mesh strainer on top. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the egg yolks. Slowly, but steadily pour the warm cinnamon milk into the eggs, whisking constantly. Pour the egg-cinnamon mixture back into the saucepan and cook over medium-low heat until it starts to thicken. (Again, whisking constantly). It’s fair to say that all of this whisking burns the ice cream calories, right?

Pour the custard through the mesh strainer and into the milk. Stir and chill thoroughly. Freeze in your ice cream maker.

Leave a Reply

