Salted Butter Caramel Sauce

I have a philosophy:

If you’re going to indulge – indulge all the way.

Alongside that there’s:

Quality over quantity.

And it’s only getting worse as I get older. It turns out I have luxurious tastes. Now, I’m not out of control … but I won’t bat an eye at spending $100 for a dress when ten years ago that would make my eyes pop out of my head. But I would rather have fewer things that I love, than a bunch of stuff that I only kind of like.

The same holds true for food as well. I like tasty, full-fat, full-sugar, full-flavor foods. I can’t help myself, it’s in my nature. But there is one lovely benefit to being a food snob (a label that I coming to terms with as more and more people in my life are calling me that). I hardly ever buy uber-processed foods. I may have five different types of flour, six different types of sugar and eight kinds of vinegar in my pantry but you wont find store-bought bread, cookies or salad dressing.

I recently resumed my affair with caramel. Especially salted caramel. Talk about indulgence – butter, sugar, heavy cream … and a dash of vanilla. There’s nothing in it that is good for you – unless you’re talking about good for your soul. Because this salted butter caramel sauce is heavenly.

Use it as a dipping sauce for apples, use it as a topping for cakes and ice cream … or just eat it by the spoonful. In moderation, of course.

Salted Butter Caramel Sauce

From David Lebowitz

makes ~1 1/2 cups

**********
6 tablespoons butter
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup heavy cream
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/4 teaspoons coarse sea salt
**********

Melt the butter in a deep-sided saucepan. Stir in sugar and cook, stirring frequently until the sugar is a deep golden brown and starts to smoke.

Remove from heat and whisk in half of the heavy cream – this will bubble up! Stir until smooth. Stir in remaining cream and then the vanilla and salt.

Will keep in the refrigerator for two weeks.

2 responses to “Salted Butter Caramel Sauce

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Cheesecake Bites | Puck and Kudzu

  2. Hi! I’m going to try this out (along with those pumpkin cheesecake bites) and I’m wondering about how high the burner should be for cooking the butter & sugar, and about how long it normally takes before it’s ready to pull out and add the cream, etc. Thanks in advance!

Leave a Reply

