The thrill of discovery

My heart races. My palms are sweaty. I have a ridiculous smile on my face. I’ve fallen in love again. With science.

It’s 9:30 am on a Sunday morning and I’ve been working. Discovering. Finding things that nobody else has seen before. It’s completely intoxicating. These moments don’t happen often, so it’s important to take a moment to shout from the rooftops.

‘I made a scientific breakthrough’

Of course there are a million and one experiments needed to verify a result and to develop a hypothesis. But the singular moments of discovery is what makes this particular biologist tick and should be cherished.

It’s good to be in the game again. Now, please excuse me, I have to get back to the lab …

One response to “The thrill of discovery

  1. Pingback: Defining Moments | Puck and Kudzu

Leave a Reply

