A late night cocktail

Do you remember how I mentioned I was entering into the writing cave? Let me tell you about my day.

~7 am – wake up

7:30 cup of coffee #1, start working on manuscript/presentation for conference

8:30 – 10:30 – cups of coffee #2-3, work on manuscript/presentation

10:30 – cup of coffee #4, get ready for the day

11:15 – 11:45 – bike to work

12:00 – 2:00 meet with advisor to discuss manuscript/presentation

2:30 – lunch

3:00 – 7:30 – lab work, catch up with co-workers on other projects

7:30 – 8:00 – bike home

8:00 – 9:00 – dinner, watch 3 episodes of Scrubs

9:00 – 12:00 – work on manuscript/presentation

12:00 – go to bed (write this blog post) 

It’s been like this for the past week or so with variations on the theme. Sometimes I wake up at 5 am and go to bed at 11 pm. Sometimes I don’t go into lab until after lunch. But you get the gist. I am working. A lot. Don’t get me wrong – putting together science stories makes me happy and provides a gratification like nothing else. But sometimes, just sometimes (usually around 11 pm), it drives this girl to drink.

Bourbon + Rhubarb + Rosewater = Brilliant.

Bourbon seems serious. So, being in a serious state of mind, bourbon is what I am reaching for these days. Adding the rhubarb and rosewater was an amazing happenstance.  The rhubarb mellows the edge of bourbon without losing any of its bourbon-ness. The rosewater adds a whiff of floral. I like to put in a martini glass and pretend that I’m not glued to my computer.

Bourbon, Rhubarb and Rosewater Cocktail
serves 1
**********
1 part bourbon
1 part rhubarb-rosewater syrup (see below)
1 part raw rhubarb juice
dash of angostura bitters
3-4 ice cubes
**********

Combine all the ingredients in cocktail shaker. Shake vigorously. Strain into a martini glass.

*I made this rhubarb-rosewater syrup and was overwhelmed by the rosewater and underwhelmed by the rhubarb. Which is why I went 50:50 of the recipe below with straight-up rhubarb juice. One could just up the up the amount of rhubarb in the syrup, but I kind of like the astringency that the raw juice brings.

Rhubarb-Rosewater Syrup
makes 2 cups
adapted from 101 Cookbooks
**********
1 pound rhubarb, diced
1 cup sugar
2 cups water
2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lime juice
1 teaspoon rosewater
**********

Combine the rhubarb and the sugar in a medium pot and let sit (not on heat) for about 45 minutes. Add water, bring to a simmer, and cook for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Strain and return juice to pot and heat. Add lime juice and cook until reduced to 1/2 volume. Cool. Stir in rosewater. Store in a air-tight jar in the refrigerator.

Leave a Reply

