Just Because … Oatmeal Cookies


This is not the first post I’ve written about oatmeal cookies (previous versions here and here) and it’s not likely to be the last. Growing up, cookies of the oatmeal variety were never my favorite (likely because my mother insisted on cramming them full of raisons, which should never have a place in cookies). Give me chocolate chip, sugar or even a snickerdoodle cookie before you give me an oatmeal one. I’m not exactly sure when the shift happened, but now, as a fully-fledged adult, when I crave a cookie – more often than not it’s an oatmeal one.

I like the substance to an oatmeal cookie and it’s hearty texture. Just a hint of spice elevates it to full-blown comfort food. And let’s face it, I’ve been in a less than stellar mood these past few weeks and am in need of some serious comfort food. I don’t care that we are still relishing the summertime or that stone fruits are coming into season. It was oatmeal cookies or nothing. And when I came across this recipe from the Tartine Bakery cookbook that included chocolate chips and walnuts … and just a few tablespoons of molasses, well I knew that these were the cookies for me.

And they were the cookies for Tuesdays’s lab meeting as well (not to mention a loaf of fresh baked zucchini bread). A lab member, who is limiting her sugar intake, looked longingly at my offerings. I, being the sweets pusher that I am, suggested “you could just have half a cookie” which is what she did. About five minutes later “eating half of one of those cookies is hard” was whispered in my ear.

I decided to take that as a compliment.

Chocolate-Oatmeal-Walnut Cookies
from Tartine by Chad Robertson and Elisabeth Prueitt
makes ~2 dozen
**********
12 ounces bittersweet chocolate chips
2 cups (285 g) all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 cups (170 g) old-fashioned rolled oats
1 cup butter
1 3/4 cups (350 g) granulated sugar
 4 teaspoon blackstrap or dark molasses
2 large eggs
2 tablespoons milk
1 tablespoon vanilla
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup (115 g) walnuts, coarsely chopped
**********

Preheat oven to 350º. Line baking sheet with parchment or non-stick liner (I used to never do this, but I’ve seen the error of my ways. It’s about 15x easier to get the cookies off, plus, the added bonus of easier clean up.)

In a large mixing bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder and baking soda. Stir in oats. Set aside. Using a stand mixer with the paddle attachment, beat the butter on medium-high speed until light and creamy. Slowly add the sugar and mix on medium speed until light in color and fluffy. Scrape down the sides of the mixer as needed. Add the molasses and beat until well combined. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition before adding the next egg. Beat in the milk, vanilla and salt. Scrape down the sides of the mixer as needed. Add the flour mixture and mix on low speed until well incorporated. Fold in the chocolate chips and walnut pieces with a spatula.

Have a small bowl of water handy. Scoop the dough onto prepared baking sheet (I used an ice cream scoop – they were fairly substantial scoops – I fit abut eight per cookie sheet). Wet your fingers and pat the scoops down into ~3-inch rounds. (The water remarkably prevents cookie dough from sticking to your fingers).  Bake until the edges start to turn brown, but is still light in the middle, about 10-12 minutes. Let cool on pan for a few minutes and then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

2 responses to “Just Because … Oatmeal Cookies

  1. there are never too many oatmeal cookie recipes – thanks for sharing!

  2. there is absolutely nothing wrong with raisins in oatmeal cookies!!!!! Would you like to meet Nate when you are here next week?????

Leave a Reply

